Election Results; Incoming Leadership Team 2019

Congratulations to all those elected for positions in NEHA at the April 2019 meeting in Portland, Maine. We welcome our incoming leadership and new committee and board members.

NEHA President 2019-2020: Elizabeth (Libby) Bischof, Professor of History at the University of Southern Maine. She is the Executive Director of the Osher Map Library and Smith Center for Cartographic education. A cultural historian, her research and teaching interests include 19th century American history, photography, popular culture, and the history of Maine. She is the co-author of Maine Photography: A History, 1840-2015 and Maine Moderns: Art in Seguinland, 1900-1940. She had previously served as Vice President and on the NEHA Book Prize Committee.

Vice President 2019-2020: Sean Perrone, Professor of History at Saint Anselm College. He is a historian of early modern Spain, and is the author of Charles V and the Castilian Assembly of the Clergy: Negotiations for the Ecclesiastical Subsidy. Perrone has served as NEHA Treasurer, on the Nominating Committee, and on the Book Prize Committee, and as local organizer for the Spring 2018 meeting.

Treasurer: Ella Howard, Associate Professor of History at Wentworth Institute of Technology. She teaches US urban and digital history, and is the author of Homeless: Poverty and Place in Urban America. She has previously served on the NEHA Executive Board.

Incoming Nominating Committee Members:

Troy Paddock, Professor of Modern European History and department Chair at Southern Connecticut State University; author of Creating the Russian Peril: Education, the Public Sphere and National Identity in Imperial Germany and editor of Environment, Space, Place. He has twice served on the NEHA Executive Committee and was NEHA Vice President / President in 2016-2018.

Paul Searls, Professor of History and Music and Chair of Criminal Justice, History and Global Studies at Northern Vermont University. He is the author of Two Vermonts: Geography and Identity, 1865-1910 and the forthcoming Repeopling Vermont: The Paradox of Development in the Twentieth Century.

Incoming Executive Committee Members:

Robert Bernheim, Associate Professor of History at University of Maine at Augusta and leader of the Holocaust, Genocide and Human Rights Studies minor; former Executive Director of the Holocaust and Human Rights Center of Maine.

Susan Oulette, Professor of History at Saint Michael’s College, specialist in early America, textiles, immigration and public history, and author of US Textile Production in Historical Perspective and other works.

Miriam Reumann, Teaching Professor in History at the University of Rhode Island and contingent faculty advocate. She is the author of American Sexual Character: Sex, Gender, and National Identity in the Kinsey Reports and has served a previous term on NEHA’s Executive Committee.

Kanisorn Wongsrichanalai, Director of Research at the Massachusetts Historical Society, HE is the author of Northern Character: College-Educated New Englanders, Honor, Nationalism, and Leadership in the Civil War and has directed an NEH-funded project on the World War I experiences of West Texans.