NEHA Book Award

NEHA Book Award



James P. Hanlan BOOK AWARD

NEHA welcomes nominations for the James P. Hanlan NEHA BOOK AWARD. The Award has been presented annually since 1985 to an author who has lived or worked in New England at some time during the prior two years. The New England Historical Association is a professional association of historians who live and work in New England. The focus of the organization is NOT New England History. NEHA welcomes nominations on any historical topic, time period, or geographic region.

Publishers are invited to nominate ONE title published in 2019 for the prize. Publishers should send one copy of the book being nominated to each member of the committee. The annual award is presented at the October NEHA meeting.

Nominations for the award are due by June 1, 2020; send one copy directly to each member of the committee.

Martin Menke, NEHA Book Award Chair (email:
3 Cobble Hill Road
Nashua, NH 03062

2020 Committee Members:

Kristen Petersen (
Massachusetts College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences
53 Channing Rd
Watertown MA 02472

Ian Delahanty (
Springfield College
61 South Street
Westborough, MA 01581

Marie MacDaniel (
Southern Connecticut State University
21 Maplewood Road
New Haven, CT 06515

Recent Winners: (listed by year of book publication, the award given in the following year)

2018: Seth Blumenthal (Boston University) Children of the Silent Majority: Young Voters and the Rise of the Republican Party (UP of Kansas)

2017: Richard Brown, (UConn), Self-Evident Truths: Contesting Equal Rights from the Revolution to the Civil War (Yale UP)

2016: Nathaniel Philbrick, (Independent Scholar), Valiant Ambition: George Washington, Benedict Arnold, and the Fate of the American Revolution (Penguin)

2015: Leah Wright Rigueur (Harvard Kennedy School), The Loneliness of the Black Republican (Princeton UP)

2014: Richard W. Judd (University of Maine), Second Nature: An Environmental History of New England (University of Massachusetts Press)

2013: Allegra di Bonaventura (Yale), For Adam’s Sake: A Family Saga in Colonial New England (Liveright)

2012: Seth Jacobs (Boston College), The Universe Unraveling: American Foreign Policy in Cold War Laos (Cornell UP)

2011: Brooke L. Blower (Boston University), Becoming Americans in Paris: Transatlantic Politics and Culture Between the World Wars (Oxford UP)

2010: Eric Jay Dolan (independent scholar), Fur, Fortune and Empire: The Epic History of the Fur Trade in America (W.W. Norton)

2009: George A. Billias (Clark University), American Constitutionalism Heard Round the World, 1776-1989: A Global Perspective (New York UP)

2008: James M. O’Toole (Boston College), The Faithful: A History of Catholics in America (Harvard UP)

2007: Elizabeth A. DeWolfe (University of New England), The Murder of Mary Beane and Other Stories (Kent State UP)

2006: Harry S. Stout (Yale University), Upon the Altar of the Nation: a Moral History of the American Civil War (Viking)

2005: Meg Jacobs (MIT), Pocketbook Politics: Economic Citizenship in 20th-Century America (Princeton UP)

2004: Brian Donahue (Brandeis University), The Great Meadow: Farmers and the Land in Colonial Concord (Yale UP)

2003: Evan Haefeli (Tufts University) and Kevin Sweeney (Amherst College), Captors and Captives: The 1740 French and Indian Raid on Deerfield (University of Massachusetts Press)

For further information, contact Martin Menke, NEHA Executive Secretary:

(page last updated October 2017)

One thought on “NEHA Book Award”

Comments are closed.